Happy New Years!

2013-boost

2012 has come to end and now we begin our venture into 2013. The end of the year always brings a time of reflection on our lives, the things we did and did not accomplish. We also look forward to the future and what we want to improve upon in the next 52 weeks ahead of us. It can be scary and exciting all at the same time. And as we start thinking about what we want to change we usually start thinking about New Year’s resolutions.

I hate the word “resolutions”. To me it is the same as the word diet. No one keeps a diet, no one likes diets. Resolutions instantly make me think of a 6 week short term dream. A wish that will have faded by Valentines day. So this year instead of making resolutions I am setting goals. Not only am I setting goals but I am making a plan to reach my goals.

This year sit down and make a list of what you want to accomplish in 2013. Is it lose weight? Save money? Get a new job? It can be anything. Next write down the steps you want to take to reach your goals. If your goal is to lose weight then one of your first steps should be to find a gym. Also give yourself a timeline. Many people try to reach their goals all at once and that becomes very overwhelming. If your goal is to eat healthier then gradually start introducing yourself to healthier foods. Your steps could be “I want to drink one more glass of milk a week” or “I will not be drinking any soda by March 1”. Gradual small changes over time is one of the keys to forming healthy habits.

I still am working on fine tuning my New Years goals but one I know for sure is I am going to read at least one book a month. I already have a list going of the books I want to read. I am excited for the fresh start and the new opportunities that January 1st brings a long with it. How about you? What are your New Years goals going to be?

Leave a Reply

