Grocery Shopping – It’s Tricky

Whenever I grocery shop I usually take the time to stop and compare food labels. I think it is important to compare food labels because often times the front package of a product can be misleading. The food label on the back is always where you find the real facts.

A few weeks ago I was looking for coffee creamer and came across an interesting situation.

Label-3On the left is regular coffee creamer and on the right is the fat free version. Which one would you guess is healthier?

Here is the label for the regular creamer. Notice the regular creamer only contains 0.5 grams of saturated. That isn’t very much. Also notice that it contains 1 gram of carbohydrate and 10 calories.

Label 1-1

Now we look at the fat free version. Yes they did remove that 0.5 grams of fat and we are now left with zero. Do you notice what else changed?

Label 2-2

The total carbohydrates increased from 1 gram to 2 grams. Calories however stayed the same at 10. Basically, when the fat was removed so was the flavor. In order to make it tasty they had to add some carb to the fat free version.

So back to our question, which is healthier? Well in this case I would say it’s a toss up. Yes you are cutting out your saturated fat but the original amount was so small to begin with, and you are not decreasing your calories any.

I point this out not because I think coffee creamer is bad for you (I drink it every morning) or because I think food companies are evil (they are not). But it is important when grocery shopping to know what you are getting.Take time to read food labels and compare. Hm..I think that might make a good blog post, “How to Read a Food Label”. Stay tuned.

2 thoughts on “Grocery Shopping – It’s Tricky

  1. Thanks for the heads up. I always search for the fat free version – now I know it really doesn’t matter and I can move on to other issues!

  2. Pingback: How to Read a Food Label |

Leave a Reply

